Uninsured Motorist Coverage In Florida Is Optional Yet Recommended
In the State of Florida, driving without car insurance is illegal and yet an estimated 1 out of 5 floridians operate their motor vehicle everyday, uninsured. For the majority of individuals who are involved in a motor vehicle accident the issue of financial compensation for any injuries or damages sustained becomes pivotal to their recovery process and efficiently moving past the traumatic experience. Most car accident victims will faithfully rely on their automobile insurance to cover their losses, however this faith may be misplaced when the extent of your damages exceeds your policy and if the other driver is uninsured or underinsured. Floridians may casually dismiss voluntarily obtaining uninsured motor vehicle insurance if they already have the legally required auto insurance, yet this decision may prove disastrous if your collision is with an uninsured driver.
Florida Is A No-Fault State
Florida is a no-fault car insurance state which simply dictates that regardless of who is at-fault for the car accident, the policyholder will be covered by their personal injury protection for their medical and non-medical expenses. Therefore, no matter who is to blame for the accident, the policyholder’s insurance will kick into action and cover qualified expenses.
Florida’s Auto Insurance Requirements
The State of Florida requires that every motor vehicle owner maintain a minimum amount $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) and a minimum of $10,000 no-fault property damage liability (PDL). However, state law does not require a motorist to obtain uninsured motorist coverage. Considering the State of Florida has the second highest rate of uninsured motorists in the nation, obtaining uninsured motorist coverage is not only wise but a prudent calculation on your part.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage In Florida
Uninsured motorist coverage provides payments to policyholders hit by uninsured drivers, hit and run drivers or underinsured drivers. In 2012, 23 percent of all drivers in Florida were uninsured, therefore in the average accident there is a 1 in 5 chance that a driver does not carry adequate insurance. Despite the likelihood of an accident in Florida involving an uninsured driver, uninsured motorist coverage is not required by the state. Although insurance companies are required by law to offer policyholders uninsured motorist coverage, such coverage still remains optional. Despite the current voluntary nature of uninsured motorist coverage, the statistics are clear: Florida has one of the highest rates on uninsured drivers on the road and uninsured coverage may be critical to receiving just compensation
Reach Out to Us for Assistance
Uninsured motorist coverage will pay you or your passenger/family members when the negligent driver who hit you does not have insurance or adequate coverage to cover your damages. Although obtaining uninsured motorist coverage is optional in the State of Florida, it is statistically wise to purchase such coverage. If you or anyone you know sustained injuries or damages with an uninsured or underinsured driver, contact the lawyers at the Miami office of Alan Goldfarb, P.A. to explore your options for compensation.